RSS

You’re Never Too Old

30 Jan

Sometimes I forget how older kids, say 6-12th graders, still need to study things like homophones or antonyms. I guess I tend to think those skills are just for the younger kids. Well, they are NOT just for the younger kids. Older kids still have problems with homophones especially.Some examples of harder homophones are things like: boar, bore; allowed, aloud; ware, wear; complement, compliment; meddle, medal…

                             

Are you on Facebook? Do you have kids who are “friends”? Have you ever noticed a problem with homophones when they make a post? I know I have. Spelling is also another big problem. I have to say though, it is not just kids making these mistakes. Do you like to look at Craigslist? My husband and I love to look at Craigslist. We get tickled all the time at the ads folks place. I guess they don’t have any tools to check for correct spelling or grammar. Some are outright hilarious. One of my favorite mistakes that I see quite often is “chester drawers” for “chest of drawers”.

               

I think you can use Craigslist as a fun online teaching tool. Have your older kids sit with you as you look at various ads together. Let them spot mistakes and tell you how they should be written. You will see mistakes such as spelling, punctuation, fragments, improper homophone usage, the wrong name of an item…

Caution:  Make sure you or your kids are NOT drinking milk when you do this learning activity. You would hate to have milk come out of your nose while you are laughing!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “You’re Never Too Old

  1. quaintscribbles

    February 5, 2012 at 10:38 PM

    That is good info, Kerry, thanks for sharing! I have seen it both ways as well, but always thought it was correctly spelled duct. Now I know.

     
  2. Kerry

    February 5, 2012 at 10:20 PM

    I’ll admit at 41 years old, I’m STILL confused on whether it’s duct tape or duck tape. Apparently it’s both??!!

     
  3. Dana

    January 30, 2012 at 11:38 AM

    There is also rod iron for wrought iron.

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
