RSS

Weigh In

23 Jan

Today’s post might stir you just a bit. No ill will is intended in any way, shape, or form. I am just expressing my thoughts and hoping you will weigh in with yours. I am open to what you have to say.

I belong to lots of online forum groups. I find the groups provide support, ideas, tips, links to great resources, new friendship opportunities and so much more. Some groups are Yahoo groups and the rest I have bookmarked. I think I have a pretty good balance or variety of groups from which I draw…special needs, unschooling, right-brained visual learners, Christian homeschool groups, creative thinkers, eclectic learners, singles (meaning only children) and so forth. One group I have not visited is the secular homeschool circles. I have lots of friends who do belong to secular homeschool groups for various reasons. I know many, not all, but many secular folks do not want to utilize a Christian curriculum, they desire to keep that part separate, focusing on a totally secular homeschool curriculum. I respect their decision. Many don’t want any references to God or religion in forum posts either.

                   

I integrate the Word of God into our schooling. However, I choose curriculum based on how well it meets my daughter’s learning style. We have used and continue to use various Christian curriculums with great success. We also use programs that do not focus on any form of religion. I am a Christian, so I believe it is my job as a parent to train my daughter in the way God directs me. My bent is certainly toward a Christian world view. I select quality Christian resources whenever I can. In other words, I am not going to go out of my way to select a secular curriculum, and I am not going to select a Christian curriculum simply because it is Christian. Sometimes curriculums are “labeled” in hopes of attracting certain customers. I look for quality AND what I believe.

              

I think I have shyed away from secular homeschool groups in general because I had a crazy notion they were all atheists or wiccans of some sort. I am sure there are many who are and more who are not. As I dig a little deeper into these groups, I am finding most simply want to have a support group where religion is not discussed as a part of schooling. I have also come to realize that there are Christians in secular homeschool groups just as there are secular folks who belong to Christian support groups. Sounds like the makings of a healthy balance of ideas.

I am learning that some folks simply prefer to teach academic subjects without any references toward one religion or another.  That makes sense in that some religious and secular curriculum may have a slant. I know I am picky about religious curriculum and secular curriculum. Whenever we come up against something that goes against what we believe, we simply discuss why we believe as we do. Reading and discussing things we don’t believe helps my daughter answer others when asked why she believes as she does. 

It is important to choose any curriculum, not just Christian or secular, very carefully. You have to make sure it matches up with what you as a family believe, and it is important to make sure it is academically solid. I have to say it is also important not to isolate yourself from others because of a preconceived notion such as I held about secular groups in general. 

What about you? How do you feel about Christian curriculum or Christian homeschool groups VS secular curriculum or secular support groups? Weigh in with your comment.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Weigh In

  1. quaintscribbles

    February 24, 2012 at 8:55 AM

    Hi Linda,

    Thanks so much for taking time to leave a comment. I was one who did think early on that secular homeschoolers were anti-religious. Goes proves when we assume…well, you know the how the saying goes. LOL

     
  2. Linda

    February 24, 2012 at 2:24 AM

    I’m surprised that you have not gotten more replies to this. We are secular homeschoolers. What that means is that we homeschool for reasons other than religious, mostly academic reasons. My daughter was not a good fit for a traditional school classroom. She is bright, headstrong, impatiet with those who do not learn at her pace, whether that is a snail’s pace or a cheetah’s pace, depending on the day, the subject, or the presentation. She has absolutely no tolerence for “busy work” and doesn’t mind telling you that!
    We also knew that we would be moving back to the family farm before she got out of middle school, and having school at home means that she has that constant in her life. School will still be school, regardless of our address. Homeschool is a good fit for us.
    A lot of people thing that secular homeschoolers are anti religion I just haven’t found that to be the case.
    Just thought I’d weigh.
    Linda
    Using a secular homeschool curriculum doesn’t mean we don’t believe, it just means we use a secular curriculum!

     
  3. carobcarrotcake

    January 23, 2012 at 1:53 PM

    I have been on the side of not attending secular home-school groups, and also not attending Christian home-school groups that are very secular in their tastes. The problem is that when you really stand for the principles of the Word of God, you will really not fit in in any of these groups. You see many of the “Christian” groups are as secular as the “Secular” groups today. What really makes them a “Christian” group I ask? Are they Christian because they are truly living by the Word and exemplifying the fruit of the Spirit by their words and actions to others, or they just Pharasee’s who go to church and call themselves Christian, saying that they believe in Christ, but not living it? I think none of us can truly answer the above questions I ask, because people are people, Christian or secular though they be. I have decided to treat all groups the same, and recognize that my children will one day be dropped into the real world after I home-school them and they will be exposed to all sides of the spectrum of people. If we limit them now, it will be very difficult for them to make the transition. My 11 year old son in crying for friendships out of the home, and I have chosen to expose him to both the churchy and the secular churchy, because I know that he can stand on his own where principles are concerned and he will be tested later so now is a good time for him to learn to develop relationships with others who are different than him. It is better for him to be able to do this and discuss issues that he comes across with me freely, than to wait until he is 18 and socially inept and not willing to share things with me. If we teach them how to have a living relationship with the Christ at home and hold true to the principles of the word of God at home, then they will stand firm when they have to deal with friends who are not Christian outside of the home. Better now than when they get to College with no skills of how to deal with peer pressure, bullying and other social issues.

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
