RSS

2011

31 Dec

        

Looking back over 2011, it seems like a bit of blur. We moved twice. That means I still can’t find things, and I am still unpacking junk.  I love the idea of if you haven’t used it by now, you don’t need it, but I am too afraid to just throw some stuff away. What if I want it later. HA HA  I don’t know that we had any awesome achievements, but living every day is really an awesome achievement if you stop and think about it. 

We let our daughter try public school this year. It was as horrible as we remembered it being when she was little. Homeschooling is just so much better. I can’t believe how much she actually learns on her own. She is very independent. She would rather learn on her own, but somehow indulges me. We added some neat history and science to our curriculum, I will post more about it later.

Several different animals came to live with us on our farm during 2011.

 

We added goats, chickens, guineas, ducks, geese, and cows. They are fun, but very time consuming and expensive to feed. We put up a few small sheds and new electric fencing. The goats don’t mind the shock. They run fast knowing the it only stings for a bit. Their drive to graze is very strong. We had to totally change their fencing. We got a great used tractor that surely helps my husband tons.

My daughter continues to improve her writing skills via her blog. She gets better and better at making AMV’s (anime videos). She was recently asked to submit to a contest. 

We watched several comet showers during the year. It’s great lying on the trampoline and staring into the peaceful night sky when you live in the quietness of the country.

My husband’s health has been fairly steady this year. He only had a few scary rough patches. I am very thankful for that! My health has been good. Since we lost our insurance last year, I can’t tell you how much good health is. God is good. 

My Mom and Dad were able to visit us during 2011. That is always something good. They live so far away, so visits are treasured.

I have posted more often the last several months. My goal is to continue that into 2012. 

I let my short hair grow out a little bit longer. My husband says it looks much better while my daughter says she likes it shorter. Which to go with???

I found great homes for all our birds, our rabbit, and several baby kittens. This relieved lots of stress for me, and the new owners were thrilled. 

I reconnected with old friends and made new ones. That was very nice (thank you FB).

We have continued to stay active in church. We belong to a super Rhema church.

I am sure I left tons out, but I didn’t rob a bank, kill anyone, or see my picture on the nightly news, so all in all, I think 2011 was successful! 

How was your 2011? Leave me a comment and let me know. I would love to hear from you. 

The best is yet to come, so I want to wish you all the very best for 2012.

        

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2011 in My Family

 

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
