RSS

It Will Happen

12 Dec

I remember when my daughter was learning to read. She was so excited and frustrated at the same time. My sweetie has dyslexia and other learning challenges that made that special time in a child’s life rather difficult.

I was teaching at a private Christian school at the time, and she was also enrolled. We worked extra hard at home so she wouldn’t have as hard a time in class the next day. Her teacher was very loving. She worked hard to make my daughter feel normal. No matter how hard we all worked, she knew she was different. That made me sad, and it frustrated her to no end.

I explained to her that she was not the problem, it was the fact that she learned differently. I assured her she was smart, and sooner or later, she would be reading books she enjoyed.

She loved listening to me read to her, but reading on her own was not her idea of fun. I thought she would never learn to read, or never learn to read well. Because reading was such a challenge for her, she hated it. I tried everything under the sun to make it fun for her.

Time ended up being our best friend in the long run. She finally found books she WANTED to read. They were a bit younger than what other kids her age were reading, but that was the least of my concerns. I was beyond thrilled that she even wanted to read. We quickly visited the book store and found her books.

The bottom line is some kids, even with reading challenges, will read when THEY are ready. She is not a fast reader, but her comprehension is great! Keep your chin up; your child will read.

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “It Will Happen

  1. Kerry

    December 18, 2011 at 9:30 PM

    As we moms of kiddos with dyslexia know, that accomplishment just feels SO sweet, doesn’t it??!!

     
  2. quaintscribbles

    December 12, 2011 at 2:44 PM

    Hi Dana,

    Thanks so much for leaving a comment. It is hard for us as parents not to push sometimes. 🙂 Time has always been our friend around here. I am very happy your son loves to read now. If you had pushed, chances are he would hate reading. So happy it all worked out for you.

     
  3. Dana

    December 12, 2011 at 2:35 PM

    My youngest son read at 10. We didn’t push though we wanted to. He loves to read now!

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
