RSS

Picture This: Visual History

21 Nov

We have been experimenting with different history supplements lately. I am a history LOVER, but my daughter HATES history. Right now, we are reviewing Heritage History’s Ancient Rome. It uses living books. So far, the resource is very good, but it is probably not going to be a solid fit for my visual spatial learner.

I have heard of Drive Thru History many times. I finally decided to preview a few of the You Tube videos with my daughter. She couldn’t stop laughing. That is not a bad thing. She wasn’t laughing because it was dumb, on the contrary, she was interested in the clip. Dave Stotts humor brought on the fits of laughter.

                                          

I am particularly interested in the American & Ancient History programs. The site states the lessons are geared for 6th grade and up, but also says younger kids love the program just as much.

Since my daughter is so visual, the video lessons appeal to her learning style, and the humor doesn’t hurt. I like that the lessons are based on a Christian worldview; that is a plus. I also like the on-site locations. I don’t know about you, but I tend to engage more whenever I see places I am learning about; it helps make it more real for me. However, I feel the resource is definitely just a supplement, not a whole curriculum. We already use a super online curriculum as our core, so this would be an added bonus. I also read that the series meets curriculum standards established by the National Council for the Social Studies.

Here is what HSLDA says about the series:

Tired of getting history from a dusty old book? Check out Drive Thru History America! With a comedic style, host Dave Stotts travels through time in an H1 Hummer introducing his viewers to the people and places that helped shape the United States of America. Discover the character, faith, and experiences of America’s Founders as they developed this great country where we can worship, work, travel, and live in freedom!

If you are currently using this series, or have used it in the past, I am very interested in what you have to say. Please leave a comment for me telling me about your thoughts on the resource.  

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Picture This: Visual History

  1. quaintscribbles

    November 21, 2011 at 12:01 PM

    Hi Lynn,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate you taking time to leave a comment. I did check your site out, and found such interesting information about the formation of our states. Thanks so much for sharing. I will share your blog on a few sites so others can learn the cool facts about the jigs and jags of our states.

     
  2. lynngarthwaiteblog

    November 21, 2011 at 10:09 AM

    My eye caught the words “my daughter HATES history.” I am currently researching and writing a book aimed for exactly that audience – kids who have no interest in history, but who could be accidentally drawn in if they are told some cool stories.

    I am blogging about my research, which is an explanation about how our states got their goofy shapes. The book (and blog) explain how Missouri got its boot heel, Oklahoma got its panhandle, Minnesota got the bump on its head, why Rhode Island isn’t even an island … And reading the stories kids will accidentally learn some American history. Doing the research I keep having these “that is so cool” moments – and I think kids will too. I’d love to have you check my blog and see if that might be of interest to her.

    lynngarthwaiteblog.com

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
