RSS

curriculum reviews

11 Oct

I’ve been looking at resources to supplement our homeschool history lessons, or some folks say homeschool social studies lessons. I want something that will engage my daughter because unlike me, she HATES history. How can she hate history when she has my genes?? 

I am considering  video lessons because she is a visual spatial learner. However, I don’t want online video lessons because I am on satellite and my daily Internet usage is limited. That means no You Tube for us. OUCH!

Whenever I come across something I think might be interesting, I always check to see if there are any curriculum reviews of the product. I want to know what other folks think are the advantages and disadvantages of using the product. While their review won’t be my only deciding factor, I usually always learn something more about the product beyond what the resource pages from the company tell me.

I want to see a good mix of curriculum reviews (positive and negative) and see reviews that are pretty current. The reason for wanting to see a good mix of reviews is because I know everyone is different and we all learn differently. Sometimes what someone else sees as a disadvantage, I see as an advantage. Obviously I want current curriculum reviews because hopefully, if there is a major problem with the curriculum, the company has read about or heard about it and spent time making improvements…positive changes.

I don’t believe there is one “perfect” curriculum available, or at least not one for me. I like to use a healthy mix of supplements with one good core curriculum.

             

Help me in my quest for a good social studies supplement. Leave a comment telling me about the history program you are currently using. What do you like and dislike about it? What ages is geared toward? How much does it cost? I can’t wait to hear from you. Thanks in advance!

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “curriculum reviews

  1. Mandy

    November 3, 2011 at 4:21 PM

    My kids are mostly middle school/high school aged. I have one 4th grader.

     
  2. Joyce Holden Wheeler

    October 24, 2011 at 12:38 PM

    Yes, I agree from what I have seen so far it looks wonderful. I was talking to my son about yesterday and he is excited to be using living books.

     
  3. quaintscribbles

    October 23, 2011 at 8:55 PM

    I revived mine, Ancient Rome, the other day and we will begin in about a week. I hope my daughter enjoys using it. I think I am going to like it. 🙂

     
  4. Joyce

    October 23, 2011 at 6:55 PM

    I received the Heritage History Ancient Rome and will be using it next week. I will be writing a review on my blog and try to remember to post it her.

     
  5. quaintscribbles

    October 23, 2011 at 5:40 PM

    Mandy, how old are your kids?

     
  6. Amanda

    October 23, 2011 at 4:48 AM

    I LOVED Mystery of History when I first started using it. Now, I’m finishing up with the 3rd book and I’m a bit disenchanted. The author interjects her own thoughts too much. She’ll be writing about an event in history and compare it to an event in her childhood. I understand she wants the books to read like a story, but it drives me nuts. It also seems like wraps every chapter around personal opinion. She doesn’t leave much room for the reader to develop their own thoughts. The 3rd book is the worst by far for this reason.

    I am going to look at the Heritage History website that Joyce mentioned. I love doing living books with the kids. I always choose our read alouds with our history lessons in mind.

     
  7. quaintscribbles

    October 17, 2011 at 6:30 PM

    Hi Carrie!

    I have heard lots about the Mystery of History. Does it work well for older kids?

     
  8. Carrie

    October 15, 2011 at 1:46 PM

    We use Mystery of History and my kids are loving it! It has different hands-on activities for 3 different age levels. My kids are 5, 8 and 10 and they all enjoy it!

    -Carrie, http://homeschoolbelle.blogspot.com

     
  9. quaintscribbles

    October 14, 2011 at 11:36 AM

    Wow! Thanks so much for the great info, Joyce. I am headed to the website right now. Now, if we could only get our kids to enjoy history the way we love it!!

     
  10. Joyce Holden Wheeler

    October 14, 2011 at 11:29 AM

    I totally know where you are, while in school history was my favorite subject. My boys ages 14 &12 could care less about it. This is a problem at this point due to the fact the 14 year old needs a credit in World History for high school. Not only does he not like history, but ancient history holds no interest at all. I have the honor of doing a review for Heritage History, somehow I received an email from them and decided to take a look. They use living books so like that and I love the fact that we can try it out before we use it. I am currently anxiously awaiting the arrival, it would be great if it gets here before Monday and I can incorporate it into my sons weekly lessons.

    I love that they have books on the web site so I don’t have to go searching for them. So, even if you just wanted to use the site for non-fiction history you can or even download them for $1.99 per title. Wow, had no idea I was rambling, anyway you may want to check it out and see what you think.

    Here is the link http://www.heritage-history.com/www/heritage.php

     
  11. quaintscribbles

    October 11, 2011 at 6:05 PM

    Thank you, Mandy! My DD would surely get her laughs in for the day with me in costume, or better yet, she would want to dress up too. I will have to check this out. Thanks for sharing.

     
  12. Mandy in TN

    October 11, 2011 at 5:43 PM

    The Teaching Company sells a high school world history and Early US history. The teacher dresses in costume. Also, it goes on sale at least once a year, so definitely don’t pay full price for it.

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
