RSS

Rooted and Grounded

03 Oct

                            

My daughter definitely has a mind of her own. She makes her own decisions, but I don’t think I would label her a freethinking homeschooler. While she might not always take the lead, she is certainly not one to just follow along. She analyzes the situation and makes a decision based upon what she believes is right. Can’t get much better than that, especially since I know what she believes and stands for.

                           

Her father and I encourage her to make her own decisions so she can learn from her mistakes and successes. I remember when I was her age. I would beg, yes, literally beg, my mother to make decisions for me. She refused! She said that if she made all my decisions, I would never make any on my own. I knew she was right, but I HATED making decisions. I think I was afraid I would let someone down or make the wrong decision. I am glad Mom stood firm. I grew up into a woman who can decide for herself. I don’t rely on my husband or family to make decisions for me. That is not to say I don’t welcome their input, I often do. I receive counsel from others that have my best interest at heart, which is also what I want my daughter to do..listen and weigh the information.

                               

Homeschooling encourages my daughter to be an independent thinker. She doesn’t have twenty other kids telling her what to do, what to think, how to act, how to dress, who to like… She forms her own opinions all by herself based upon what she knows is truth. When she asks me for my opinion or to help her in a particular decision, I am glad to help because I know she genuinely wants my input, not NEEDs my input. She is rooted and grounded in the Word so I am confident in her decision making process. Will she make bad decisions along the way? Yes, she is human and will sometimes make decisions that are not the best, but I know she will learn from them as she continues to grow.

I am proud of my independent child. She makes the world a better place.

                                     

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Rooted and Grounded

  1. quaintscribbles

    October 9, 2011 at 1:33 PM

    Hi Kimberley,

    I understand how you feel! Homeschooling certainly has many benefits, and this is one of them. Our kids will be out in the wild world soon enough, so it so important that we Shepard them now so they will be ready to stand strong when the time comes.

     
  2. Kimberley Byrd

    October 8, 2011 at 9:02 PM

    Oh I love this post! I was never an independent thinker and I was a people pleaser…well…I am still those things:) But two of my girls are very strong willed and make their own decisions and I am SO thankful for homeschool and that they are not influenced by other children or of “this world” while they are still babies in the nest. One of mine is a true follower and so I am especially thankful she is at home with me:) Thanks for this post!

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
