RSS

Unschoolers Ineffective

21 Sep

I read an article at Families.com about unschoolers and standardized testing the other day,

Unschoolers: At a disadvantage on standardized tests

I thought the article was very good and I agree with the author most heartily!

I HATE standardized testing! My background is in teaching, both public and private school (now I homeschool of course). I hate the idea of teaching the test. In the old days kids were taught things they really needed to learn, not what some bureaucrat who isn’t a teacher thinks they need to know. If it isn’t a bureaucrat making the testing guidelines, then it’s most likely a teacher or administrator who hasn’t set foot in a classroom since they were in elementary school….very out of touch.  No Child Left Behind is a disaster in my opinion. I think it is actually leaving kids very behind.

We have been unschooling the last several years and LOVE it. Well, I guess you might say, semi-unschooling really. We use Time4Learning as our core and supplement with Teaching TextbooksVocabularySpelling City,Vocab_Fun, and anything she shows an interest in learning about.  My daughter does test below level, however, her IQ is quite high and she has more common sense than lots of kids her age. I think that is a testament to unschooling.

So, what do you think? Weigh in on this.

 
 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Unschoolers Ineffective

  1. quaintscribbles

    September 24, 2011 at 9:57 AM

    Hi Kim,

    I taught in TX and remember the TAKS. My last several years were spent teaching in private school where there was no teaching toward the test. Testing there was what it was intended to be, a measure of progress to be taken in regard to the “whole” student.

    Yes, we also really like T4L. It is an awesome program.

    Glad you stopped by to visit. 🙂

     
  2. Kimberley Byrd

    September 24, 2011 at 8:58 AM

    I have two older children that are in their 20’s and two 6 year olds we have adopted and I am homeschooling them. The older children went completely through the public school system and both of them suffered by the time they entered college. Neither one of them knew how to even organize their thoughts to write a paper. We lived in Texas and everything was about the TAKS test, everything!

    We are using Time4Learning also and we love it!!! It is so easy to do a section on their and then use supplemental items to make it fun!

     
  3. quaintscribbles

    September 21, 2011 at 10:12 PM

    Isn’t that the truth! I really do believe it is worse now with “No Child Left Behind” than it was before. I think American needs to examine they way kids were taught 30-40+ years ago. It was so much better. There was no “teaching toward the test” and kids achieved more in my opinion.

     
  4. Fatcat

    September 21, 2011 at 6:52 PM

    I read a quote about no child left behind the other day and now I can’t find it again, but it said something like ` no one child is left behind, instead, we’re leaving them behind in large groups. ‘

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
