RSS

Compound Fun

05 Sep

I am so excited! I stumbled across the most fantastic site for learning compound words. I know you are going to LOVE it. VocabularySpellingCity teamed up with Vocabulary Fun to bring you an integrated unit on compound words. The unit includes a Compound Word Lesson Video and a Compound Word Lesson Plan (PDF). The compound word page on VocabularySpellingCity also talks about a school that hosts a Compound Word dress-up day. Sounds like lots of fun, doesn’t it? They included a picture so you get the whole idea. I think it’s an incredibly fun way for kids to learn.  They also include several hands-on activities for teaching about compound words, not to mention all the online educational games they offer on the two sites–this is a winning combination. I noticed the words begin at a first grade level and go up through high school. Oh, and did I mention that both sites are FREE!!! I must say though, VocabularySpellingCity does offer a premium membership that is worth checking out. I think it’s about $25 for a whole year. Can’t beat that.

    

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Compound Fun

  1. quaintscribbles

    September 19, 2011 at 11:30 PM

    Thanks for visiting, Sproutmama, and enjoy the resources.

     
  2. sproutmama

    September 19, 2011 at 11:12 PM

    This looks great! It is great to have so many wonderful resources available to us.

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
