RSS

Syllabication–Say What?

29 Aug

Interested in helping your child excel in learning to spell, read, and pronounce words correctly? I am going to bet you said yes. Understanding syllables and learning to segment words will go a long way toward achieving this goal. It will also help them master phonics and develop greater fluency.

Most kids begin learning about syllables or segmenting words in kindergarten. It can be lots of fun for them. Clapping syllables is one method that kids seem to enjoy. I’ve also had kindergarten kids to second graders hold their hand under their chin so they can feel every time their mouth opens. Each time the mouth moves, they know that is a syllable.

I decided to list a few neat resources for teaching about syllables, playing online games about segmenting,  and using hands-on activities with your class or child.

Syllables/Segmenting

How to Teach Syllabication: The Syllable Rules

Syllable Games

Syllable Counter & Word Count

How Many Sy/la/bles ?

Pro-Teacher Forum

Syllable Games

What tips and tricks do you use for teaching about syllables? Please leave a comment for everyone.

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Syllabication–Say What?

  1. quaintscribbles

    September 1, 2011 at 2:32 PM

    How funny! Time4Learning is our fave site. They have lots of options that I (MOM) loves. I love that i can pay quarterly or yearly and get a discount, I love that my DD can work a grade level above or below her grade within each subject, I love that THEY do all the reporting for me, I love that I can take time off and not pay for a whole month, I love that they have a very active Community Forum, I love their Customer Support, I LOVE that my kids loves them…. I have never been disappointed with them. Glad to hear your girls love them, too!

     
  2. quaintscribbles

    September 1, 2011 at 2:27 PM

    Aww, thanks, Kimberley! The VocabularySpellingCity site is really awesome. I think your sweet little Lottie might really like it. Glad you enjoyed visiting my blog, I know your’s is wonderful. I LOVE blog surfing. Another site your kids might enjoy (and it’s free too) is Vocabulary Fun.

     
  3. Kimberley Byrd

    September 1, 2011 at 2:21 PM

    Oh AND I see Time 4 Learning on your Blogroll, we use that also during the day and the girls LOVE it!!! Hugs:)

     
  4. Kimberley Byrd

    September 1, 2011 at 2:20 PM

    Oh I love these! Thank you soooo much for your kind words and homeschooling tips on my blog:) I am off to read more of yours for more fun!

     
  5. quaintscribbles

    September 1, 2011 at 1:48 PM

    That’s so funny, Danica! It really works, doesn’t it!! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

     
  6. Danica

    September 1, 2011 at 1:42 PM

    Totally just had my hand under my chin to see if that was true. Not gonna lie. 😀

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
