RSS

Connect…share what works for you!

01 Aug

                                            

                        

Do you have a child with special needs? Perhaps they have CAPD, ADHD, Dyslexia, Autism… How do you go about teaching them? What works for you? Special education is not as daunting as it once was. Many thanks go to new technology. I also think the “stigma” that was once so prevalent is long gone, or at least I hope it is. I also believe that folks are becoming more aware of the various learning styles and trying to implement better ways to reach kids. Don’t we owe them that much?

I am sure there are many folks out there right now who are overwhelmed at the prospect of homeschooling their special needs child, but they also know that sending them back to an unsupportive or unproductive situation is not the answer. They just need a little support and some direction. They need to know that homeschooling a special needs child can be a gratifying, rewarding, and successful adventure–it can be a success! You can help today by offering a bit of encouragement and sharing your experiences (the good and the bad) about homeschooling your precious child who learns differently.

I am truly interested in hearing what you have to say on this subject, so please take a few minutes to share. I am sure there are others out there that will benefit from your trials and successes.

                          Can’t wait to read your comments.

 

                                  

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Connect…share what works for you!

  1. quaintscribbles

    August 4, 2011 at 3:57 PM

    Thanks for sharing, Katie! I HATE worksheets. Sometimes they serve a purpose, but I think of them as busy work for the most part. Also, not having a set school time is one of my favorite luxuries of being a homeschooler.

     
  2. Katie

    August 4, 2011 at 11:11 AM

    Neither of my boys will do worksheets or copy work either. Not only do they hate it, lol, but they don’t really retain it either. They just do it to get it done, and they aren’t really picking anything up along the way. We also don’t have set “school time” either. But that is just as much for me as it is them. If I have a schedule I have to follow and that schedule gets off, even just minutely, then my whole day/week is off. I know that probably doesn’t make sense, lol, but it is just easier for all of us if we can take our day as it comes. 🙂

     
  3. Kathi Weiss

    August 2, 2011 at 12:20 AM

    My son also has to move around. He frequently does his work while laying on the couch upside down with his head on the floor. He holds my netbook over his head to see it. Sometimes he lays on the floor and plays with legos while I read the work to him. He will only work with Mom. Dad laughs if he makes a mistake so he won’t have anything to do with him and school work at the same time.

    Kathi

     
  4. quaintscribbles

    August 1, 2011 at 7:00 PM

    My child needs to be able to get up and move around when necessary. Sitting in a classroom all day was not the answer. School happens for her on her bed, outside on the trampoline, under the trees (well, actually up in the tree limbs pretty often) in the swing… School is done in small chunks, not on the clock. She is a right brain learner; she sees in pictures. Knowing her learning style opened up new avenues for learning. Trying to make her do any kind of copy work is torture and is only going to backfire. Allowing her input into what she learns goes a long way. Worksheets are out, video learning (using online learning works great) and visuals help greatly. Working with Dad is preferred…Mom can be too boring (so I’ve been told)!

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
