RSS

Decisions or Dilemma?

18 Jul

                                     

We have been unschooling the last several years and it works for us. It’s a great way to learn life skills for sure.  However, my DD is heading into high school now, so I am trying to unscramble all the different options for her. She is interested in returning to public school, well, for now she is interested in it. Tomorrow may be a different story. Smile  Her mind changes as fast as the wind. My husband and I are giving her that option for now. I don’t want her to look back in thirty years and regret not being able to at least try public high school. It is a small county school and appears to offer a good bit of choice as far as electives go.

I am sure she will have to test to see where they want to place her. She is behind, well according to public school she is behind. Her dyslexia and CAPD, among other things, has set her back just a little. She has a high IQ and is quite smart. I am not so sure she will be happy with their decision, and I am not convinced she will even like going to school! She hates large crowds, she hates lots of noise, she will have to ride the bus about an hour one way, she is not used to homework, she is not used to changing classes… However, she can roll with the punches–she is a survivor. She is a leader and not a follower. She has what it takes, just not sure she will want what it takes, know what I mean? Even if she does choose to tough it out in public school, we will still have to work at home as if we were still homeschooling. Actually, we will have to work harder to keep up with all the junk they require. Yes, I think most of it is pure junk.

Are any of you facing a similar situation? Leave a comment and share with me. I will keep you posted on our dilemma.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Decisions or Dilemma?

  1. quaintscribbles

    July 25, 2011 at 2:42 PM

    I hear ya, Kerry! That is one of the same reasons we wanted to give her to option of going to school (Kerry said: “I think that school is kind of this frame-of-reference for so much of the population and I would love for him to be able to see things from a different perspective – – just for one year.”).

    Kids are so funny!

     
  2. Kerry

    July 24, 2011 at 10:02 PM

    Definitely keep us posted! I’m strangely in the opposite scenario…I’ve been trying to get my younger son to actually try a year of high school. I just have this strange feeling that he is going to regret having never experienced an actual school-situation. I’m definitely with you as far as the junk that he would have to overlook to actually get to some learning, but at the same time, I think that school is kind of this frame-of-reference for so much of the population and I would love for him to be able to see things from a different perspective – – just for one year. He has been homeschooled since first grade on and school might as well be a foreign country to him!! 😛 So far, though, he isn’t showing the least interest in my idea.

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
