RSS

Something Old-something new

11 Jul

One of my most favorite things to do is find something funky at a yard sale and repurpose it. It’s kind of like going on a treasure hunt. I like to redo ordinary things, too, like take an old piece of furniture or an ugly piece of furniture and repaint it or turn it into something it wasn’t meant for. It’s fun to take a piece of jewelry and turn it into something very unlike jewelry. I love it when you take a rustic old ladder and use it for shelving and showing off vintage glassware in the living room. The possibilities are endless for turning something old into something new.

Take a look at this colander turned light fixture.

I discovered a neat blog today, My Cottage Charm. This gal does a wonderful job of repurposing items and building new things. I really love her work. She has one post on painting brass candlesticks and I’ve been meaning on getting around to that forever. I bought the candlesticks at an estate sale way back in February. Maybe that’s what I’ll do next week.

Check out this simple mason jar flower vase at another blog I like–Simply Staci.

Art and artsy things are fun to me. Growing up, I loved to do arts and crafts, anything from sand art to rock tumbling. I remember making my grandmother a tiny little bottle of colored water when I was about 8 I guess. When she died, I found the bottle. She had kept it all those years. Now I have it, somewhere! I love beautiful paintings, too. My Mom and I took painting lessons when I was a freshman in college. It was so fun.

It’s really easy to incorporate all this into your homeschooling curriculum. Think of it as life skills or art class. Oh the fun you and your kids will have as you all learn new things such as painting techniques, the color wheel and warm and cool colors, measurement, reading skills (you have to read directions sometime), telling time (you have to know how long to wait between paint applications), saving money and consumerism (shopping at thrift stores and yard sales are a great way to teach about saving money)… You can introduce artists and play art games. Even science can be learned. Take a look at the plantings below.

 

Leave a comment about something you have repurposed. I would love to read about it.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Something Old-something new

  1. quaintscribbles

    July 31, 2011 at 12:22 AM

    Thanks, Tiffany! Be sure to share any fun things you do with your kids…would love to read about it.

     
  2. Tiffany Manley

    July 30, 2011 at 11:54 PM

    What a great idea! I never thought of incorporating that into homeschooling that way. Love the tea container plants. 🙂

     
  3. quaintscribbles

    July 26, 2011 at 10:58 AM

    Hi Georgia!

    Yes, I love “Alley Shopping” or “Dumpster Diving”, too! I love your blog. You kids are adorable and the chickens are cute for sure. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Hope to see you again.

     
  4. Georgia

    July 25, 2011 at 11:05 PM

    such a neat idea! repurposing stuff is always fun and it is a good outlet for creativity!! i have used re-purposing many times when working on my chicken coop. We call it alley shopping (or dumpster diving) at its best!

     
  5. quaintscribbles

    July 18, 2011 at 7:57 AM

    I bet it looked really good and think of the money you saved. You go girl!!

     
  6. Kerry

    July 17, 2011 at 8:36 PM

    I can barely “purpose” things the first time, so RE-purposing is not easy for this craft-challenged mama, but I did make a really cute vase for my front porch out of an antique pitcher I found at a thrift store.

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
