RSS

It’s Alive!

27 Jun

I love history/social studies. My father was a history teacher back in the day. I think his love for history and learning rubbed off on me. Do you have kiddos that think history is dull, dry, or boring? Maybe it is! What a shame. History can be so vibrant with just a little extra effort. 

Social studies can be electrifying if you present material to the homeschool learning style of your child. I think it’s exciting to read about something in history and then actually have the opportunity to go explore the situation myself, or vice versa. Just the other day, my husband and I went to Andersonville, GA, and explored the POW/Civil War grounds and museum. The museum was not boring at all, and the movie we watched was fantastic. I actually felt uncomfortable when I was looking at the interactive display showing the barbed wire fence and spotlights around what was supposed to be a POW camp. While I was standing there (it was kind of dark), the spotlights came on and starting roving around me while the sirens began blaring and shots were fired. I can’t say I know what it’s like to be held captive, but this display certainly helped me understand a little better.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

So how about history around your house? Is it dead and gone, or is full of life? I will say that if you only read about history/social studies you will run the risk of it being dry and boring for sure. Play social studies learning games, act out favorite scenes from something you are studying or create your own play, dress as a character you are studying, have the kids dress up from a specific time period, make your own game boards, plan field trips or vacations to locations you are learning about, compose a song about an event or person in history, scrapbook or lapbook your fieldtrip or history vacation, design a poster about a specific event, interview a grandparent or great grandparent about life when they were young, learn about your family history and make a tree to record the info, make a brochure about a state or an event from history, make a salt map, create a recipe from a specific time period, design a postage stamp for a specific event in history, make a shadowbox or a diorama, write a children’s history comic book… The ideas are limitless as is the fun! So tomorrow, try to make  history come to life around your house.

    

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
