RSS

QWERTY

12 May

I think everyone would agree we live in a fast growing world of technology. When I was a kid, calculators were about as technological as it got. I do remember getting a Commodore 64 computer back in the day, but we didn’t do anything with it–Windows was non-existent. Oh, and for fun, we had Pong!

In high school, I took typing. I think everyone had to take it. I was so excited that I was one of the lucky kids who got to use an electric typewriter. I changed schools at one point in high school and the new school was going to make me use a manual typewriter. I actually couldn’t do it. They finally gave in and let me use the electric. Whew! I am thankful I took typing. I had no clue that it would one day be so very useful.

Kids today learn typing at a very early age–some at the preschool level. Typing programs were among the first educational PC titles developed. Typing is the key to getting a great job in today’s market. I find it hard to think of any job that doesn’t use typing or keyboarding in some aspect, whether it is writing reports, data input, checking out customers at a store, registering patients at a clinic… Most jobs require some degree of computer work, and knowing how to type quickly and efficiently will make you more marketable than someone else who simply “finger types” at the keyboard. I have watched my husband use the hunt-and-peck method for years. You might think that his speed would eventually pick up from constant usage, not so. Well, o.k., maybe it is a few seconds faster than when he started.

Kids really must learn to type properly to prevent developing bad habits (hunt-and-peck or looking at the keyboard as they type). Proper typing skills also  spare the typist from a s-l-o-w typing speed, a repetitive strain injury, or just plain old sloppy typing. Once kids have started typing on their own (no instruction provided), it is very difficult, if not impossible, to correct their “bad habits.” Using a computer keyboard and knowing how to type is essential. Today, there are great typing games for kids to learn to use the keyboard. Oh how I wish there were available when I was learning. I must admit, typing class was rather boring and tedious. Learning games make it fun for students, and when kids are having fun, the best learning seems to take place. So, go ahead and have some fun today.

Note:  Have you ever wondered what QWERTY really means? Find out here.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “QWERTY

  1. Kerry

    May 14, 2011 at 10:18 PM

    I’ll never forget the “hummmmmm” of those electric typewriters in high school typing class! All those humming machines in one place and it was SO hard to even hear what the teacher was dictating for us to type! LOL

     
  2. quaintscribbles

    May 14, 2011 at 11:02 AM

    Hi Suzanne!

    Thanks for the link. Don’t you just love all the wonderful things that are available to our kids these days, especially the free ones!

     
  3. Suzanne Perryman

    May 13, 2011 at 1:36 PM

    Hi Jackie. Thanks for popping by http://www.specialneedsmom.com. Great post! lots of cool resources here. My daughter’s vision teacher turned us on to dancemat, a free web based typing game from Europe.. http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/typing/

    it begins at a lower almost preschool level, music, bright game like graphics, certificates for progress etc.. and goes up in levels of mastery.

    totally free, check it out

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
