RSS

Lost Art

06 May

Handwriting seems to be a little bit of a lost art these days since so many folks tend to use a word processor.  I must admit I LOVE using a word processor to quickly jot to-do lists, notes, letters… However, I also know how much it means to me to receive a handwritten letter in the mail. Technology is wonderful, but sometimes it takes the personal feeling of yesteryear away. When I receive a handwritten letter, I know the writer took valuable time out of their day to convey something of importance just to me, and that makes me feel special. I try to keep that special feeling in mind when I want to send a letter or note to someone.  Kids are no different. They too love to receive handwritten notes from Mom, Dad, grandma, grandpa, cousins, aunts, uncles…  In order to receive a handwritten note, many times they must first write one. What better incentive to teach them to write notes.  Plus, it makes handwriting worksheets and handwriting practice a little less dull or boring.

Print, D’Nealian, cursive, upper case, lower case, arrows, no arrows, Zaner Bloser, ball and stick, italic … The list seems endless doesn’t it? However, handwriting and handwriting worksheets are important not only for those learning to write, but for those who need extra practice and to maintain proper form. An easy way to make sure you add student handwriting practice to your weekly assignments is by having students use their weekly spelling list as a springboard for writing. Students can write rhymes, stories, vocabulary meanings, put words in ABC order, write jokes,  songs … using the current week’s spelling list. This makes handwriting more realistic for the student.

So, grab some funky stationery and fun writing pens and set out to make someone’s day a little brighter!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
