RSS

GAMES

11 Jan

How many times to your kids say, “School is not fun! I want to play my DS.  I wish I could just play games today.” ? I bet you sometimes reply, “School is not supposed to be fun everyday!” How close am I? I will have to say I have used the “School is not supposed to be fun every day.” response with my daughter and kids in my classroom. While it is true that it is not always fun every day, school can be fun by incorporating hands-on activities, games, and crafts, as well as lapbooking  and such. Educational learning games can be used as a learning tool and as a reward for completing assignments without being all-consuming. One online curriculum my daughter uses has a “playground” for the kids. It has educational games and fun games in a safe environment. She doesn’t use the playground anymore. She is 13 and thinks she is much too old for that. She does, however, enjoy some educational games. One idea for older kids is to play Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader?, Wheel of Fortune, or Jeopardy when you are studying certain history, geography, art, or language topics. Using Scrabble, Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego?, Apples to Apples, Geo Safari, Life… are also great ideas. So, go ahead and have a ball playing games today!

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “GAMES

  1. Kimberly 'Bookwalter' Terrill

    January 18, 2011 at 11:17 PM

    P.S.
    I forgot to add the link that has my CSI links/plans:

    http://kabersblog.blogspot.com/2010/11/sharing-plans.html

     
  2. quaintscribbles

    January 18, 2011 at 10:56 PM

    That is refreshing to hear! 🙂

    Forensic studies sound really fun. Can’t wait to check out your blog.

     
  3. Kimberly 'Bookwalter' Terrill

    January 18, 2011 at 10:40 PM

    I can honestly say we have never had that (exact) conversation in my house- my kids have never had DS, Gameboys, nintendo, etc.

    We “quasi-unschool” so school is rarely ” No Fun!”

    we are learning about Forensic Sciences this month, and the boys are practicing computer programming and computer generated graphics. (stop by to see our latest fun)

    But we do have our days/moments where they are less than enthused (usually when it is writing).

    visiting you from HHH

    -Kimberly
    http://kabersblog.blogspot.com/2011/01/tool-marks-pageviews-more.html

     

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
