RSS

Mid-week Boost

05 Feb

Time for a mid-week boost. This comes from a lady named Andrea. Here blog is at: http://flourishingmother.blogspot.com/2007/07/paraphrasing-and-pray

The Flourishing Mother

Monday, July 30, 2007
Paraphrasing and praying Psalm 139… and Spurgeon

O Lord, you search my daughter, and you know her.
You know when she sits, and when she rises,
you perceive her thoughts from afar.
You discern her going out, and lying down;
you are familiar with all her ways.
Before a word is even on her tongue
you know it completely, O magnificent Lord.

You hem her in–behind and before;
you have laid your hand upon her.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, her mother–who knows her so well;
too lofty for me to attain to–ever.

Where can she go from Your Spirit?
Where can she flee from Your Presence?
If she goes up to the heavens, you are there;
if she makes her bed in the depths, you are there.
If she rises on the wings of the dawn,
if she settles on the far side of the sea,
even there Your hand will guide her,
Your right hand will hold her fast.

*****************************************

…for You created her inmost being.
You knit her together in her mother’s womb.
I praise you because she is fearfully and wonderfully made.
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
Her frame was not hidden from you,
when she was made in the secret place.
When she was woven together in the depths of the earth
your eyes saw her unformed body.
All the days ordained for her
were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

****************************************

Lord….search my thoughts, as this anxious mother…know my thoughts.
test me.
See if there is any offensive way in me, as her mother.
Lead me in the way everlasting.

****************************************

I have taken the liberty of paraphrasing Psalm 139 to a great extent here. I have prayed this prayer for my children many times. It is so amazing to me that our Lord knows us extensively. He knows all about us. So why do I turn to others so often for help, instead of Him…the one who knows me best?

I love the Lord’s ways, they are always good and right. I find peace in praying these verses for my children.

“By His messengers, His Word, and His Spirit, the Lord Jesus sweetly and graciously compels men to come in, so that they may eat of His marriage supper. He does this, not by any violation of the free will of man, but by the power of His grace. I may exercise power over another man’s (child’s) will, yet that other man’s (child’s) will may be perfectly free, because the contraint is exercised in a manner that is harmonious with the laws of the human mind. Jehovah Jesus knows how–by irresistible arguments addressed to the understanding, by mighty reasons appealing to the affections, and by the mysterious influence of His Holy Spirit operating on all powers and passions of the soul–to subdue the whole man. In this way, whereas the man was once rebellious, he now yields cheerfully to Christ’s rule, conquered by sovereign love.”

~Charles Spurgeon “Morning and Evening”

Amazing and mind-blowing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 5, 2009 in Helpful, Jesus, Prayer

 

I would LOVE to read your comment, so please leave one for me.

 
